Seven Feasts of Yahweh

Entering the Seasons for deliverance

Finding and Entering your “Holy Calling,” & Entering the Windows of Heaven’s appointments and blessings.

There was great difficulty in the 1st century church relative to feasts and timing. The followers of the Messiah were rejected, caused them to be ejected from polite Jewish society, and despised. It wasnt long before they were kicked out of the Jewish worship and/or feast participation- especially after the Bar Kochba revolt. Paul addressed much of these circumstances in his letters when Paul spoke about this in Romans 14 which I will address later. (Acts 15:19-21)

For from ancient generations Moses has had in every city those who proclaim him, for he is read every Sabbath in the synagogues.”

Acts 15:21

Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the LORD Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that there will not be room enough to store it.

Malachi 3:10

The seven feasts of the Lord are his “Appointed Times” during which he will meet with men for holy purposes – this was based on a belief in the “windows of heaven,” (Mal. 3:10) angels ascending and descending during those times via open spiritual portals to execute the will of God on the earth. (Jacobs Ladder- Genesis 28:10-13 & the Ethiopian Church book of Enoch Chapter 74 *But… dont want to open up a “Canon of worms” * – joke

Four of the 7 feasts occur in the spring of the year. They are “Passover”, “Unleavened Bread”, “First Fruits”, and “Shavuot” (also known as “Pentecost”). These 4 Spring Feasts are summed up in only 19 verses of Scripture (Leviticus 23:4–22).

They are also mentioned in the New Testament as well. Unleavend Bread and Passover, a rememberance of the sinless life of Jesus, His Burial (Afikomen) – and the Crucifixian of the Lord –

A note:

  • Leaven signifies sin and evil things; we need to deal with any sin or evil things that the Lord exposes, and we need to eat the Lord’s sinless life (Communion) so that we may live the same kind of life He lived for the fulfillment of God’s purpose.

Your boasting is not good. Do you not know that a little leaven leavens the whole lump? Cleanse out the old leaven that you may be a new lump, as you really are unleavened. For Christ, our Passover lamb, has been sacrificed. Let us therefore celebrate the festival, not with the old leaven, the leaven of malice and evil, but with the unleavened bread of sincerity and truth.

1 Corinthians 5:6-8

AFikomen (The word afikomen is from the Greek epikomen or epikomion, meaning “that which comes after.” ) – Unleavened Bread

During the Passover meal, the father in the family breaks the middle matzah in two, places the smaller piece on top of the matzah cloth and wraps the larger piece, which is called the “afikomen,” in the clean, white linen cloth which is next to the matzah cloth. The Hebrew word “afikomen” is most likely derived from the Greek word “epikomos” which means “after a banquet,” or “dessert.”

Then, the children leave the room and while they are gone, the leader “buries” (hides) the afikomen, this wrapped piece of matzah, somewhere in the room. Then the children return.  They are encouraged sometime during the meal to earnestly search for the “buried treasure” of unleavened bread which is striped and pierced, wrapped in cloth, buried, earnestly sought, and when discovered, found to be of great value. This clearly parallels the events surrounding the death, burial, and resurrection of Jesus.

Also we see First Fruits Mentioned in 1 Coninthians

But now is Christ risen from the dead, and become the firstfruits of them that slept. For since by man came death, by man came also the resurrection of the dead. For as in Adam all die, even so in Christ shall all be made alive. But every man in his own order: Christ the firstfruits; afterward they that are Christ’s at his coming

1 Corinthians 15:20-23

Also Shavuot or better known as Pentacost represent a harvest. Shavuot originated as an agricultural festival. It celebrates the beginning (the “first fruits”) of the wheat harvest in Eretz Yisrael which continues throughout the summer and ends with Sukkot/Tabernacles in the fall.

We see the New Testament reference of Shavuot or Pentacost in Acts 2

  • Holy Spirit Given / Also a HARVEST in to God’s kingdom.

And a veiled Reference in Colossians

so as to walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, fully pleasing to him: bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God; being strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy; giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in light. He has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins. (a harvest into the kingdom! HalleluYah!)

Colossians 1:10-13

In early Pre-Nicean (council of Nicea 325AD) christianity, these Spring feasts were celebrated as a remembrance of the Messiah’s first coming, which has happened.

The 3 final feasts, in the fall of the year, are in the Hebrew month of Tishri (September/October). They represent the events associated with the Messiah’s second coming, which has yet to occur. These 3 final feasts forms the basis for what the Bible calls “blessed hope” (Titus 2:11-14).

For the grace of God that bringeth salvation hath appeared to all men, Teaching us that, denying ungodliness and worldly lusts, we should live soberly, righteously, and godly, in this present world; Looking for that blessed hope, and the glorious appearing of the great God and our Saviour Jesus Christ; Who gave himself for us, that he might redeem us from all iniquity, and purify unto himself a peculiar people, zealous of good works.

Titus 2:11-14

Accept the one whose faith is weak, without quarreling over disputable matters. One person’s faith allows them to eat anything, but another, whose faith is weak, eats only vegetables. The one who eats everything must not treat with contempt the one who does not, and the one who does not eat everything must not judge the one who does, for God has accepted them. Who are you to judge someone else’s servant? To their own master, servants stand or fall. And they will stand, for the Lord is able to make them stand. One person considers one day more sacred than another; another considers every day alike. Each of them should be fully convinced in their own mind. Whoever regards one day as special does so to the Lord. Whoever eats meat does so to the Lord, for they give thanks to God; and whoever abstains does so to the Lord and gives thanks to God. For none of us lives for ourselves alone, and none of us dies for ourselves alone. If we live, we live for the Lord; and if we die, we die for the Lord. So, whether we live or die, we belong to the Lord. For this very reason, Christ died and returned to life so that he might be the Lord of both the dead and the living.

Romans 14:1-4

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: